Entwined With You by Sylvia Day

Image

Rating: 4/5 Stars

We come back to Eva Trammel and Gideon Cross after the murder of her abuser. Eva and Gideon are both in emotional agony at having to be separated. Not only that, but they’re keeping a big secret, and it would destroy them both if the news got out.

Speaking of news, this installment has a really annoying reporter who keeps popping in and out. She feels like a tabloid reporter to me; I found her repulsive. She’s got it out for Cross in a big way, and she’ll do whatever it takes to get the story she wants, whether it’s true or not.

While Gideon and Eva try to maintain the public perception that they’re unattached, Eva gets a call from her rockstar ex-boyfriend, asking her to make a very public appearance with him. She accepts, reluctantly, unwilling to lead him on but also afraid of upsetting Gideon.

I’m not entirely sure where Gideon and Eva’s relationship will go after this book. I’m interested to see what happens with the sub-plots planted in the last half of Entwined With You too. I know a few readers who were frustrated with this installment, frustrated with Eva specifically. I like Eva in this book. I feel like she has a good head on her shoulders, and that she won’t bend easily just to please Gideon. She knows what she wants and she isn’t afraid to push for it, but she’s also smart about making the big decisions.

I really enjoyed the first two books in this series. They were quick, intense reads, and great for an escape. That being said, I was a little disappointed with this one. Don’t get me wrong: I enjoyed the book, but it took me a lot longer to read this one than the previous two. I think part of it was that I didn’t find the suspense that I felt in the first two installments. I didn’t have that need to keep reading and find out what was going to happen. I missed the thrills of danger that the first two provided; not sure if that says something about me, or about the book, but I digress. I did enjoy the character development here, and the different dynamics that came up in the relationship between Eva and Gideon. I also enjoyed the small glimpses into the troubles of other characters, and I’m very interested to see where the next books take them.

One thing I always enjoy about Day’s books is her ability to tell a really good story and pair it with steamy scenes. You really do go through the whole range of emotions when you read her stuff. If you enjoyed Bared to You and Reflected in You, there’s no doubt in my mind that you’ll like Entwined With You as well. As far as book boyfriends go, Gideon Cross is definitely in my Top Five. Don’t expect to feel resolve at the end of this book, but don’t expect a cliffhanger either. It’s a tricky one.

Leave a Reply

