Dog Collar Crime by Adrienne Giordano (@AdriennGiordano)

dog collar crime cover

Rating: 4/5 Stars

It’s every young woman’s worst nightmare. Lucie Rizzo has lost her job and is forced to move back home to her parents’. The Rizzos aren’t your run of the mill family. Lucie’s dad is Joe Rizzo, incarcerated mob boss.

Going back home isn’t all bad, though. Lucie has managed to get herself a set of regular dog-walking clients, and developed a line of high-end dog accessories. Not to mention, home is where Frankie is. Her on-again, off-again man, and her biggest cheerleader.

When her clients are the victims of several dog-jackings, Lucie starts to wonder what kind of connection there is. As she starts to put the pieces of this puzzle together, she sees a picture that she isn’t too fond of. Can Lucie keep the dogs, and herself, safe? Will all of this ruin her chances with Frankie?

This was my first dip into Romantic Mystery (again with losing my genre virginity to Giordano!) and I wasn’t too sure what to expect. I’ve loved other books by this author, so I was pretty confident that I’d breeze through it. It was a great read! I wondered if romantic mystery might be a little too ‘damsel in distress’ for my liking, but as it turns out, Lucie is my kind of gal. She doesn’t want her man to fix things for her, and I have a lot of respect for that.

I had the bad guy pegged pretty early on, but it didn’t take away from the story for me. I enjoyed unraveling the mystery and getting swept up in the love scenes right along with Lucie. The personalities of the dogs in the book were really cute too. If you love animals, a little detective work and some steamy love scenes (without being graphic) you will really enjoy this book.

Leave a Reply

